Colorado Collaboration Award – 2013

Thanks in part to the PLP’s efforts through the years, the Western Colorado Landscape Collaborative won the 2013 Colorado Collaboration Award, a prestigious $50,000 prize which recognizes excellence and innovation in nonprofit partnerships.

“This collaboration is an outstanding example of how diverse groups with different interests can join together and work toward their common goals,” said Renny Fagan, President & CEO of the Colorado Nonprofit Association. “The level of collaboration they have achieved among local, state, federal and corporate stakeholders is impressive. They are doing remarkable work in Western Colorado to protect the environment, conduct scientific research, educate the public about natural resources, create jobs, and strengthen local economies.”


Forest Service Chief’s Award – 2012

The Chief’s Award is the highest honor in the Forest Service and is presented to individuals and groups who find innovative ways to achieve the strategic goals of the agency. The Uncompahgre Collaborative Forest Landscape Restoration Partners were presented the award for Sustaining Forests and Grasslands on December 3. Tammy Randall-Parker of the Ouray Ranger District accepted the awards in Washington, DC from the Chief of the Forest Service. On March 1, Tammy presented a beautiful bowl to the Public Lands Partnership for their role in the collaborative. Thanks to everyone who’s been involved in making restoration on the Uncompahgre Plateau both fun and effective.

United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Secretary’s Award – 2007

The PLP has received the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Secretary’s Award and was honored for “Protecting and Enhancing the Nation’s Natural Resource Base and Environment.” The Honor Awards are the most prestigious awards given by USDA.

At the October 11 ceremony in Washington D.C., Mary Chapman received the PLP’s award from Acting Agriculture Secretary Chuck Connor. This year there were 22 groups and 5 individual award winners honored by the Acting Secretary.

U.S. Forest Service Chief’s Honor Award – 2007

Washington, D.C. – A Colorado citizen group, focused on public land management for the Uncompahgre National Forest, received a U.S. Forest Service Chief’s Honor Award at a ceremony at the Arlington Hyatt Hotel in Washington, D.C., Sept. 25 for serving as a national model of community-based collaboration.

Forest Service Chief Abigail Kimbell made the presentation to Nancy Fishering of Montrose and Art Goodtimes of Norwood. Also named in the award were fellow PLP Executive Committee members Mary Chapman of Delta, Stu Krebs of Montrose, Ralph Files of Montrose, Jan McCracken of Delta, Alan Belt of Montrose, and Alan Staehle of Ouray.

“It’s an honor to see this hard-working partnership be recognized on the national level for its important work,” said Goodtimes, currently chair of the San Miguel County Board of Commissioners. “PLP provides a table of trust where diverse interests can come together and learn from each other, so that public land decisions can be made that take into account all perspectives and all stakeholders.”

In receiving the award, Fishering took a moment to thank Uncompahgre Forest Supervisor Charlie Richmond and Regional Forester Rick Cables for their support and participation in improving public management decisions in ways that help enhance and maintain diverse, healthy and viable economies, environments and communities in Western Colorado.

US Forest Service Regional Honor – Cooperative Support/Community Connection Award – 2006

Rocky Mountain Regional Forester, Rick Cables, awarded the PLP the 2006 Forest Service Regional Honor – Cooperative Support/Community Connection Award to Nancy Fishering on December 14, 2006 in Denver, CO.

CO Chapter of Wildlife Society Outstanding Achievement Award – 2005

The PLP received an Outstanding Achievement Award from the Colorado Chapter of the Wildlife Society at their annual meeting. The presentation took place during the Society’s Awards Banquet in Colorado Springs in January, 2005. Congratulations to the PLP team for its collective, outstanding achievements.

Secretary of the Interior’s Four C’s Award – 2004

The PLP received the Secretary of the Interior’s Four C’s Award: Consultation, Cooperation, and Communication, all in the service of Conservation. BLM Director, Kathleen Clarke, presented the partners with the distinguished Director’s Four C’s Award in an October 2004 ceremony held in Montrose, CO.